Book Review: Killing Jesus

Standard

I understand Bill O’Reilly and Martin Duggard had to continue their “Killing” theme when they named this book, but I think a better name would have been The Gospel of Bill.

Killing Jesus by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Duggard

That’s basically what this book is. It’s the story of Jesus Christ written by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Duggard. The Gospel of Bill name would really fit because the writers use simple language and make everything easy to understand. They don’t use any hifalutin words or any overly complex theological concepts like they would have if the book was named “The Gospel of William.” Instead they teach the life of Jesus to the average American.

I consider myself to be an average American, and I loved the book. It kept me interested, it was a quick read, and I learned lots!

This book is an important book for our country to have. Too many people misunderstand or are misinformed about the life of Jesus Christ. Bad news and negativity about Christianity seem to be running rampant in today’s culture.

Killing Jesus details not only the life of Jesus Christ as portrayed by the Bible, but also life in general during those times. The writers explain the Roman culture; the kings, the brutality, the politics. The book is really an account of that whole period of history, more than just an account of Jesus Christ’s life and death. It helped me get a firm understanding of Jesus Christ’s life by painting a broad picture of the world at that time.

Speaking of living in the world at that time, I’m damn glad I didn’t! Life under the Roman empire in those times was quite a bit worse than it is today, and I think you’ll agree with me if you decide to read the book.

I’m sure glad I read it!

Ultimately, Killing Jesus strengthened my faith, and I’m confident it will strengthen yours as well!

Leave a Reply

